Butter Chicken (murgh makhani)

I’ve always loved butter chicken. I don’t think my mum has ever made it. So when I was fasting, I figured the only way I was going to satisfy this intense craving was to make some myself. Besides, i heard it was easy to make, thought it would be the perfect start 🙂

However, i realized (very quickly) that there is more than just one version of butter chicken, so Indian delights was out, it wasn’t the recipe I wanted. I was looking for the butter chicken curry type thing that I could pour over my rice or dip my roti in. Where the curry was just as good as the chicken itself…Now all I had to do was find THE recipe…

Finding a recipe, is not a problem. Finding a great one is. Most of them were just basic: chilli, butter and cream. No intense flavour or aroma.
I did find one recipe that required me to use pre-mixed BBQ spice, however, at that precise moment I realized my aunt back home is the queen of recipes and an excellent cook. She was bound to have a good recipe… she did. She reprimanded me when I told her about my pre-mixed BBQ spice recipe and then again when I asked her how would I know what jeera and dhana powder looked like 😛
But my aunt, having known me all my life, knew I was not experienced,
so her instructions were idiot proof 🙂

The Recipe:
Step 1:
500g chicken fillet, Wash and cube it.
In a large mixing bowl, mix the following ingredients:
1tsp fine salt
1 heaped tsp ginger&garlic mix
1tsp jeera powder (cumin powder)
1tsp dhania powder (coriander seed powder)
1/2tsp haldi (tumeric)
2tsp red chilli powder
1TBS tandoori masala
1/2tsp Garam Masala
1-2 Strands saffron
1/2 Cup Plain Yoghurt
Add chicken to mixture, cover with cling film and keep in the fridge for at least 2 hours. (Can be stored overnight)
this is how the mixture should look:
Step2: When ready to cook
50g butter melt in pot
Dice&Cube 1 whole onion, small pieces
Fry it in the butter until slightly golden (You need to watch this like a hawk, can go from golden to burnt in like a split second)
Add the chicken to the onions
2tbs tomato paste add (Can add 2 or 3 MORE TBS here for thickness, or redness – Discretionary)
Cook it for a little while, Then
1tub fresh cream, 250ml
Taste. If a little acidic add half a teaspoon white sugar. (Maximum 1 teaspoon)
(I add more saffron here, but its optional)
1 Tablespoon Cornflour dissolved in a little water, add to gravy.
Cook for a little bit longer until desired consistency, and until chicken is done.
Turn off stove and will thicken on standing.
Sprinkle some dhania (coriander/cilantro) over and serve with rice, roti or paratha
Straight off the stove and into the plates and tummy’s of some very hungry indian people 🙂
Additional notes: 
Too thin, must find a way to thicken it. Perhaps double cream?
Update 1: Made it again and it was pretty good. The marinade can also double as braai marinade for the chicken. Yummy.
Update 2: Made it a few times since, and have updated some of the spices
Update 3: Added saffron (yum)
Update 4: Added a pinch of elachi (optional), can also add the cardamom pods when frying onions, but i don’t like speed traps in my food 🙂

5 thoughts on “Butter Chicken (murgh makhani)

  1. MJ says:

    Try using tandoori masala in the marinade – gives it a deeper flavour. Also we use almond powder – tastes great and helps to thicken it. Oh another thing you could do to thicken it – once the onions are sauteed in the butter – blend them. (thanks again for the finger food ideas!)

  2. Thanks definitely going to try that that the next time 🙂 Someone else also suggested maizena, and double cream, although double cream might be a bit much 🙂

  3. Ayesha says:

    I agree with MJ almond powder just gives it an awesome flavour, my recipe is very similar. I also add a tsp of shans butter chicken spice, when i marinate the chicken. Next time try using half butter and half ghee, i know its butter chicken, but every now and again the memon in me comes threw lol

  4. Tazkiyah says:

    Enjoying your blog:) try Greek yoghurt instead of cream, it’s just as tasty, if not more. Agree with previous poster some tandoori masala adds a kick and you can even try ground cashews for that something special.

    • Thank you 🙂 I’ve tried ground almonds, came out quite nice, I think cashew nuts would be amazing, going to try that out next. Do cape town people add sugar to it? Is it supposed to be sweet?

Leave a comment